Pride Week: Celebrating Love, Diversity, and Acceptance

This weekend kicked off Saskatoon’s Pride week. There are lots of events going on around the city, with the main attraction, the Pride Parade, taking place this Saturday. I see this week as a celebration of love and diversity and I’m glad to live in a community that embraces Pride week. I think sexuality has become increasingly more complex, with people not as easily fitting a label such as gay, straight, or bi-sexual. I see sexuality more as a spectrum; some people fall into the heterosexual side, others on the homosexual side and more still somewhere in the middle.

There are more and more terms out there to describe the complexities of sexuality (pansexual, demisexual) and I can’t pretend for a moment to have an understanding of all of them. When I hear a term that I’m not familiar with I never hesitate to ask what that term means, and if it is someone I am working with, what that term means to them. I think sometimes we need to be careful that we don’t get too caught up in the language and forget to treat someone as an individual. While having a word to describe us can be relieving and might help others understand us better, we are so much more than a word.

I would like to think we are moving more towards a culture of acceptance around different lifestyles, but I have heard the backlash around gender neutral bathrooms and know we have a long way to go.  My views are also through that of a married, heterosexual woman and I am not naïve enough to think that I truly have an understanding of what it is like to want to engage in a relationship with someone or partake in a lifestyle that is not the dominant culture. I hope to partake is some of the festivities this week and hope that others who don’t identify as a part of the LGBTQ community come out as well.

Danielle

Leave a Reply

