Letting Go of Expectations: The Work of Brené Brown

I have a list of reading material a mile long. All of it is good stuff (or at least I think it is), but after a day of work, I find it hard to get motivated to pick it up even though I know it will benefit me and the clients I work for. In an effort to get motivated and be held accountable, I figured this is the perfect platform to share some new information.

A couple of weeks ago I started reading Brené Brown’s “The Gifts of Imperfection” and I am thoroughly enjoying what I have read. Confession: I had planned to be done the book for this post and I haven’t quite made it, but I’m close. I have heard of Brené Brown as she is quite well known for her research and work around vulnerability and shame and has some wildly successful TED talks. The book is about letting go of expectations and who we think we should be. The word that came to Brené, which is subsequently used in the subtitle, to describe the kind of joyous, authentic life many of us are craving is wholehearted. She outlines 10 different pillars that will help us to live a wholehearted life while outlining the negative expectations that can get in the way.

At the end of each chapter Brené outlines how she DIG’s deep to create positive change. DIG stands for:

Deliberate: being intentional on thoughts and behaviors

Inspired: gathering inspiration to make new choices

Going: take action

The book is genuine, easy to ready and provides a lot of lightbulb moments. She encourages us to let go of long held beliefs and move towards a more authentic way of being, embracing all we have to offer, imperfections and all.

I am confident this will not be the last Brené Brown book I read and if any of the above is striking a chord with you, I would encourage you to check her out. Anyone who encourages us to embrace imperfection and be true to ourselves definitely deserves a read!

Danielle

 

2 thoughts on “Letting Go of Expectations: The Work of Brené Brown

Leave a Reply

