Staycation

I typically only book time off work if I am going to be going somewhere or doing something. Otherwise I tend to have the mentality that if I am free and available I should be working. I think this is a mentality that a lot of people get caught up in. This week my husband and I had booked time off to go skiing and while I’m loving the early spring weather, it isn’t exactly making for great ski conditions. This could potentially be one of the first (hopefully not last) times I have had a few days off to spend around home. This really got me thinking about how beneficial this could be.

Having a staycation is a great opportunity to get some rest and relaxation and also get things accomplished around the house that often get pushed to the backburner. So often weekends don’t seem like enough time to actually enjoy time off while still maintaining a household. A staycation can be the best of both worlds; get some house stuff accomplished while also having the down time to appreciate your home environment. An organized home environment is more conducive to a clear mind.

I also find that as fun as vacations are, I come home feeling like I need another vacation to catch up on rest. A staycation is a great way to recharge the batteries without all of the hassle and stress of traveling. You genuinely can have time to relax while also taking time to enjoy yourself. I’m sure I’m not the only one out there who is way more active in other cities than my own. A staycation is a great opportunity to play tourist in your own town. Try out activities or visit places that you typically wouldn’t. I have no doubt in my mind that Saskatoon offers some great shops and entertainment that I don’t go to because I always think I can do it anytime or ‘later.’ Only trouble is later never comes.

Next time you’ve got the opportunity to take some time off, think about sticking around home and taking advantage of your own community.

2 thoughts on “Staycation

Leave a Reply

