Back to Reality: Getting Back into Life After Vacation

A few weeks ago I wrote a post about bucket lists. I was just in the midst of packing and trying to get everything together to head off on one of my biggest bucket list items – a safari in South Africa. The trip was absolutely amazing and exceeded all of my expectations. It was more than just a simple vacation, it was a life changing experience (kind of dramatic, I know). So now I have been home for almost two days and I am definitely feeling out of sorts (jet lag may also have something to do with that).
It can be a little bit challenging to get back into the routine of everyday life when you have been on vacation or traveling. When you’re away you experience different people, food, and cultures. Sometimes it can take some time to adjust to your new surroundings. We might even find ourselves experiencing a bit of culture shock because things are so different from our daily life. The same can also be true for when we return home. We have become accustomed to our travel surroundings and now trying to fit back into the daily grind can be difficult. I also find that within myself and others, there is almost a sense of loss of coming back from a big trip. There is so much anticipation, buildup and excitement and then in a blink of an eye it is all over. It also doesn’t take very long for the whole experience to seem more like a dream than reality (thankfully there are pictures).
In order to get back into the groove of life I know that self-care and routine are important. Jet lag definitely does play a factor and it is important to try and get enough rest, fuel your body with good food, and engage in light exercise. The sooner you can get back on local time, the better the transition will be. I also find for myself and others, jumping back into work can help refocus and reengage us in life after holiday. So this week my mission is to settle back in at work, take it easy outside of work, and savor the pictures that I do have.

Danielle

Leave a Reply

