Bucket Lists

I wanted to share that I am super excited to be heading on holidays for almost four weeks. As I write this I am in the midst of packing, finishing up yard work, and trying to get my house in order. I am also overwhelmed that I will be heading out on an adventure of a lifetime. By the time this blog is published I’ll have already spent a week exploring South Africa and have completed the number one item on my bucket list, a Safari in Kruger National Park.
My partner and I did a couples bucket list and it is literally hanging on our fridge. Some numbers have been crossed off, while others will likely remain unchecked for years. I love the idea of a bucket list because it reminds us of what is important to us and what we would like to accomplish. I would say that a bucket list is different from a goal, at least initially. Way back I did a post on SMART goals; that is making goals specific, measurable, attainable, realistic and time centered. A bucket list might start out as a pipe dream. Initially when my partner and I did our list, going on an African Safari was so far out of reach we might as well have been planning a trip to mars. However as we got more settled in our careers and begin saving, going to Africa became more doable.
On our list we have outrageous ideas (visit an elephant orphanage in Sri Lanka) and more low key ideas (seeing a favourite band). The combination gives us big dreams to reach for while also keeping perspective that wonderful experiences or ideas don’t have to be costly. It can be so easy to get caught up in the routine of daily life that we forget that we once had big dreams or ideas. Creating a bucket list can be a reminder that we are not just a partner, parent, sister, brother, son or daughter, but we are a human being with goals, desires and a sense of adventure. What would be #1 on your bucket list?

Danielle

Leave a Reply

