Goodbyes are Hard: Therapists get Attached too

I wanted to write about depression this week, but I’m going to push that back until next week because I have something on my mind that I would like to share. I have made the difficult decision to leave the community agency that I work for in Prince Albert, SK at the end of January. My decision to leave really comes down to my commute. I have spent 2.5 – 3 hours in a car on workdays over the past 2 years and it’s starting to take a toll. I believe I am making a good decision and I’m really excited to be working closer to home and have availability in private practice 5 days a week. However, I didn’t anticipate how difficult it would be to say goodbye to my clients in P.A.

Don’t get me wrong. I knew saying goodbye would be hard, just not THIS hard. A counselling relationship is a very unique and personal relationship. While it’s true the client does most of the disclosing, as a therapist, you share pieces of yourself with your clients and you become deeply involved in the client journey. When clients end therapy on their own accord, it’s an exciting and hopeful time. Together we have accomplished the goals they set out to achieve. Now that I’ve made the decision to leave, I feel like I’m leaving a book half read – I will never get to see how it ends.

I have several adolescents on my case load, and these have been the hardest clients to say goodbye to. I feel like I have worked so hard to earn their trust and respect and just like that, I am passing them on to someone else. I’m not afraid to say I’ve shed a few tears throughout this process and I’m sure there are more to come. The staff in Prince Albert are wonderful and I know my clients are in excellent hands. It is now time to refocus on my practice in Saskatoon and creating meaningful therapeutic relationships with a new clientele.

Danielle

4 thoughts on “Goodbyes are Hard: Therapists get Attached too

  1. Well I totally agree Danielle saying good bye to you was one of the hardest things I had to do because I felt I was very close to you. I let you in in a way that I have not let any other for a very long time. I have to be honest I shed a few tears in my car when I gave you a hug goodbye. By the way I loved your sweater it was my favorite color and it was super soft. The clients that are getting you now are very lucky and thank you for giving me the gift of being such an awesome counselor and putting up with a lot of my crap in our sessions

    • Hi Candice,
      Thank you so much for the kind words – it really means a lot. It has been an absolute pleasure working with you and getting to know you. It sure is tough to say goodbye, but I know you are in good hands 🙂

Leave a Reply

