Confession

A couple of weeks ago a client asked me what I did for myself for self-care. I told him I surround myself with good people and try to do relaxing activities, like hot yoga. I have recently realized I totally lied, though not intentionally. While I do surround myself with good people, the last time I attended a hot yoga class there was snow on the ground…from last winter. As I recover from a mini meltdown about all of the tasks I have to do in the upcoming week, I have realized I am not very good at practicing what I preach.
I often tell people change is hard and it can be especially challenging to practice self-care and setting boundaries if this is something we are not used to doing. This is also difficult for therapists (I KNOW I am not the only person in the helping profession who struggles with this). As I come to the realization that I need to improve upon my self-care routine, I also realize the need to be gentle with myself.
It can be so easy for us to beat up on ourselves when we don’t practice healthy habits or when we fall back into old routines. To this I say, take a deep breath and let it go. It does not encourage us to create change in our lives if we are also beating ourselves up. We are all human, we all make mistakes, and we can all make the conscious choice to do better for ourselves every day. Start with small changes because it is the small things that add up to make a big impact. It is with this mentality that I go forward in the week. Realizing I need to make adjustments to my schedule, but also realizing I need to have patience with myself as I do. I encourage you to do the same.

Danielle

Leave a Reply

